DAMAC Founder Hussain Sajwani wins Real Estate Business Leader of the Year at Gulf Business Awards

Originally published on Dec 09, 2021 | Gulf Business

Gulf Business, which is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, held a glittering ceremony for the ninth edition of the Gulf Business Awards on November 23 with the region’s top business leaders in attendance.

Hussain Sajwani, founder of DAMAC, won Real Estate Business Leader of The Year.

Other winners in separate categories included:


Banking: Rola Abu Manneh, CEO, Standard Chartered UAE

Energy: Paddy Padmanathan, CEO and president, ACWA Power

Healthcare: Dr Shamsheer Vayalil, chairman and managing director, VPS Healthcare

Investment: Bal Krishen, chairman, Century Financial

Retail: Mohammad A Baker, deputy chairman and CEO, GMG

Technology: Nidal Abou-Ltaif, president – Avaya International (EMEA & APAC)

Transport and Logistics: Captain Mohamed Juma Al Shamisi, chairman of the Hope Consortium Executive Committee; Group CEO, Abu Dhabi Ports

Tourism and Hospitality: Issam Kazim, CEO, Dubai Corporation for Tourism and Commerce Marketing

The prestigious awards, which were held in-person at the Central Park Towers DIFC in Dubai, honoured regional stalwarts who navigated their companies amidst a challenging economic scenario and steered them to success.

A total of 26 awards were presented to distinguished business leaders and companies across multiple industrial verticals, including energy, tourism and hospitality, transport and logistics, technology, investment, real estate, banking, healthcare and retail.

Trophies were also handed out to individuals and organisations across select categories including Sustainability Company of the Year, SME of the Year, Disruptor of the Year and Businesswoman of the Year. Special recognitions were also given to an ‘Inspiring Entrepreneur’, a ‘Young Business Leader’ and a “Promising Newcomer’.

Gulf Business also presented the coveted Lifetime Achievement award to Colm McLoughlin, executive vice chairman and CEO of Dubai Duty Free, for his outstanding contribution to the travel retail industry.

The award winners were chosen by an independent judging panel of esteemed industry and business leaders, which included Thomas Kuruvilla, managing partner, Arthur D. Little Middle East; Dr Sonia Ben Jaafar, CEO, Abdulla Al Ghurair Foundation for Education; Neil Petch, founder and chairman, Virtugroup; Ian Fairservice, founder and managing partner, Motivate Media Group; and Andrew Wingrove, group director, Motivate Media Group.

The award ceremony was hosted by Motivate Media Group and sponsored by EFG Hermes, One Global, Netafim and OPPO. Event partners include Fogo De Chao for F&B, Central Park Towers at DIFC for venue as well as Jacobsons Direct Marketing.